Snapchat has updated its terms and conditions
Written by Sam O'Toole on 07 November 2015« Return to Reading Room
Snapchat is a video messaging application that allows users to take a photo or a video, add a caption or a drawing, send it to a friend then when it is viewed it is deleted from the device.
However, due to updated terms and conditions not everything will be deleted. The content that is sent to individuals will be deleted after it has been viewed, although a quick screenshot will allow you to save it!
If you share your content on the “My Story, Replay and Snapchat Live” functions on the app, it may be available on Snapchat servers and recipient’s device after they have been viewed.
With the new terms and conditions you grant Snapchat a worldwide, perpetual, royalty-free, sub-licensable, and transferable licence to amongst others host, store and use. Many social networks, such as Facebook and Twitter, have similar terms and conditions. However, Snapchat reserves that right to use your content outside of Snapchat by sharing it with its business partners.
Another part of the new terms and conditions is an arbitration clause found in the support section. Unless the claim involves the alleged unlawful use of copyrights, trade marks, trade names, logos, trade secrets, or patents the claim will be resolved by binding arbitration. However, there is an option to resolve the issue informally or in a small claims court.
Uber, the car sharing app also has a similar clause in its terms and conditions. However, the clause was held to be “unconscionable” in a number of cases so a class-action law suit was allowed.
Snapchat, does not want you to miss this clause, has put a message at the start of the terms and conditions to make you aware that that the arbitration clause is there. This is most likely to help protect the clause from being ruled “unconscionable”.
Want to speak
Complete the form below and we’ll call you back free of charge.